NFHS Music Association Awards

NFHS Music Association Outstanding Educator Award

One nominee per state is accepted for this award, and the nominee must be endorsed by the state association office. Criteria for evaluation include: organization and continuance of an activity program, significant and ongoing contributions to the field, years of both curricular and co-curricular service, contributions to the profession both in and out of the state.



Dean Westman - Avon High School



Randy Greenwell – Lawrence Central High School, retired/Conn-Selmer Education (Section 4 recipient)



Mary Evers – Greenfield Central Junior High School



Doug Elmore – Floyd Central High School, Floyds Knobs



Janis Stockhouse – Bloomington High School North (Section 4 recipient)

NFHS Music Association Heart of the Arts Award

This award seeks to recognize any student, adult or group associated with the school’s performing arts who exemplify the ideals of the positive heart the arts that represent the core mission of education-based activities.

For example, it could be awarded to an individual (or group) that:

  • has demonstrated exemplary “heart,” sportsmanship and/or citizenship in participation as it should occur;
  • has exceeded normal expectations in assisting others within the school or community; or
  • has overcome adversity or a challenging circumstance.



Joel Gernand – Elkhart High School



Andrew Meece – Southridge High School



Avon High School Orchestra Chamber Players (Section 4 recipient) Dean Westman, Director

2023-2024 Sponsor of All ISSMA Marching Band Events, State Show Choir & Jazz Finals, and State Concert Finals

2023-2024 Supporting Sponsor of All ISSMA State Finals Events

Paige's Music
2024 Supporting Sponsor for State Show Choir & Jazz Finals
Piano Solutions